Why Is It Called Bledisloe Cup?

How many times have the Wallabies won the Bledisloe Cup?

New Zealand have had the most success, winning the trophy in 2020 for the 48th time (excluding the disputed inaugural competition in 1931), while Australia have won the trophy 12 times..

Who won the Bledisloe Cup in 2000?

The WallabiesThe Wallabies won the tournament for the first time after a thrilling 19–18 win in Durban….2000 Tri Nations Series.Final positionsChampionsAustralia (1st title)Bledisloe CupAustraliaTournament statisticsMatches played64 more rows

Who won Tri Nations 2020?

New ZealandNew Zealand retained the trophy for an 18th consecutive year after winning Game 2 (27-7) and Game 3 (5-43); Australia won Game 4 (24-22), and Game 1 finished in a 16-all draw.

Is there a third Bledisloe?

The All Blacks team has been named to play Australia in the third Bledisloe Cup and first Investec Tri Nations Test at ANZ Stadium, Sydney, on Saturday 31 October (9.50PM NZT).

How many Bledisloe Cup games are there in 2020?

three gamesThe 2020 Bledisloe Cup is set to again feature three games, two in Australia and one in New Zealand, from August 8 – October 17, 2020.

When did Australia last win at Eden Park?

1986While Australia have had special difficulty getting over the line at Eden Park, their last win being the Bledisloe Cup-winning 22-9 victory in 1986 their connection hasn’t been all bad.

What time is kick off for Bledisloe?

All games will kick off at 7:45pm.

Who was Lord Bledisloe?

Charles BathurstCharles Bathurst, 1st Viscount Bledisloe, GCMG, KBE, PC (21 September 1867 – 3 July 1958) was a British Conservative politician and colonial governor. He was Governor-General of New Zealand from 1930 to 1935.

How many games have the All Black won?

The All Blacks compete with Argentina, Australia and South Africa in the Rugby Championship, and have won the trophy sixteen times in the competition’s 23-year history. The team has completed a Grand Slam tour against the four Home Nations four times (1978, 2005, 2008 and 2010).

What time is the Bledisloe Cup on Saturday?

Match details: Saturday, October 31 at 9.45pm, ANZ Stadium in Sydney.

Can Australia win the Bledisloe Cup?

The Wallabies won Game 4 in Brisbane 24-22. The All Blacks wrapped up the series win after destroying the Wallabies 43-5 in Game 3….Bledisloe 3.WallabiesAll Blacks5Score430Drop-goals00Red cards01 – Filipo Daugunu (4′)Yellow cards2 – Jordie Barrett (9′) Shannon Frizell (79′)3 more rows

When did Australia last hold the Bledisloe Cup?

2002Australia last tasted Bledisloe success in 2002, which was actually their fifth title in a row. Matt Burke slotted a match-winning penalty after the siren sounded to give his side a 16-14 win in Sydney. None of the current Wallabies squad have ever got their hands on the coveted trophy.

Which TV channel is showing Bledisloe Cup?

Nine. Nine Entertainment bring you LIVE coverage of the Wallabies, featuring the Bledisloe Cup, plus one match a week of the Super Rugby and four select matches of Shute Shield plus one match per week during finals for Shute Shield (NSW) and Hospital Cup (QLD).

When did Australia last beat New Zealand in rugby?

RecordsRecordAustraliaNew ZealandHome47 (10 August 2019)51 (23 August 2014)Away33 (19 October 2013)54 (19 August 2017)Largest winning marginHome21 (10 August 2019)37 (6 July 1996)5 more rows